top of page
  • Writer's pictureEVC

April 1: Khalil--Living with Coronavirus

Have you ever had that one family member who never gets sick, so when they do it's concerning? That is the current dilemma my family and I have been tasked with dealing with. My older brother Isaiah has coronavirus, he has all matching symptoms and it’s affected the very way of life in my home. This invisible unwanted enemy that has been invading families homes and lives and taking loved ones away from each other has now entered my home, and it definitely affected my mental health to say the very least. The interaction that I used to have with my brother was through video games, sports debating, sneaker talk, and cultural debating. That has all been put on the back burner until he hopefully recovers. His room is located on the opposite side of the house which isn't close to mine but since we're in the same house it's not far. We've been talking but not in person, but by texting. We were texting about the first thing we’re going to do when this is all over, and he said he wants to take a walk to brooklyn bridge park to play basketball. When i read this message i smiled, but it's weird because he doesn't feel the same. He feels miles away. I've been feeling overwhelmed with the truth there is a possibility that we all might have it and we aren't feeling symptoms. The other truth I faced last night as I was cleaning my room and I found an old photo of me and him at a christmas party, and i shed a tear fearful of not knowing if he'll be able to take that walk to brooklyn bridge park. Everytime i go to open a door in the house, I immediately remember that there's a possibility that the virus is on the door knob. This covid-19 virus has been dissecting the happiness that we have in our home slowly but firmly, and personally as a believer in Christ, I need to just be faithful in this time of worry.


40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page